Skip to navigation Skip to search

Town Mayor Re-elected at Annual Council Meeting

Council News & Services

Annual Council Meeting 2018 

Long-standing local councillor Nigel Coltman has been elected Town Mayor and Chairman for a fourth term at the Annual Meeting of Hailsham Town Council held on Wednesday [23 May].

The Annual Council Meeting also elected Councillor Grant De Jongh as Deputy Town Mayor and Vice-Chairman (taking over from Councillor Amanda O’Rawe) and various representatives for local community organisations.

Councillor Coltman was elected onto the Town Council in 1999, has served on several committees, and was Chairman of the Council’s Business Enterprise Committee from May 2011 to May 2015.

Councillor Coltman is also Chairman of the Hailsham Forward Stakeholder Group, which grew out of Hailsham’s application for a Portas grant towards town revitalisation projects, and over the coming year he expects to see some visible projects to enhance the image of the town.

His long-term vision is for a town that is more ‘people focused’ and is working towards a refreshed town centre that will become an attractive focus for the growing population.

During his address, Councillor Coltman stated that it will be another busy year ahead for the Town Council and thanked all those who had contributed to its many achievements during the past twelve months, for helping to provide better facilities for Hailsham and helping towards revitalising the town in the process.

Councillor Coltman added: “I’d like to extend my thanks to Councillor Amanda O’Rawe for her support as Deputy Mayor and Vice-Chairman during the last three years and now welcome Grant De Jongh into the role for 2018/2019.”

“Thank you to everyone for having faith in me to carry out the duty of Mayor and Chairman for another term.”

“The Town Council will continue to achieve the objectives set out when we were elected three years ago. There is still a lot more work to be done and many more good things to be achieved by the Town Council.”

File Size

Enquiries relating to this media release

Terry Hall, Communications Officer
Hailsham Town Council, Market Street, Hailsham, East Sussex, BN27 2AE
Telephone: 01323 841702 | Email: