Skip to navigation Skip to search

New Deputy Mayor Voted in at Annual Meeting

Council News & Services

Grant De Jongh and Town Clerk John Harrison 

Local councillor Grant De Jongh has been elected Deputy Town Mayor and Vice-Chairman for at the Annual Meeting of Hailsham Town Council held on Wednesday 23rd May.

Cllr De Jongh, who was elected on to the Town Council in 2017 representing Upper Horsebridge Ward, has quickly become a vital member of the Council and continues to support many local residents in Hailsham.

On accepting the new role, Councillor De Jongh said: “I am delighted to have been elected Deputy Mayor of Hailsham and embrace all the challenges and opportunities the role will bring. I am passionate about our town and want an unshakeable sense of pride in our community to spread throughout Hailsham.”

“We have many hidden gems in our town and some of our local businesses are the preferred supplier of services to high-value multinational companies, local engineers among other things develop world-class sports cars right here, and we have a fantastic youth service which continues to grow and much more.”

“The history and future of Hailsham is bright and we can all make that even brighter with a positive and co-operative mindset. Bearing in mind and embracing the fact that we are all stakeholders in our town and can take opportunities as they present themselves little and often to make constructive contributions to our community mindset and environment.”

“Thank you to the former Deputy Mayor Amanda O’Rawe for doing a wonderful job and I look forward to working with all my fellow councillors and officers, as well as residents and other stakeholders during the 2018/19 period.”

File Size

Enquiries relating to this media release

Terry Hall, Communications Officer
Hailsham Town Council, Market Street, Hailsham, East Sussex, BN27 2AE
Telephone: 01323 841702 | Email: