Skip to navigation Skip to search

Mayor of Hailsham Welcomes New Councillor

Council News & Services


Trevor Burns has been elected as councillor for the South & West Ward on Hailsham Town Council.

Conservative candidate Mr Burns was voted in during the by-election held on Thursday [20th July] having received 481 votes.

The vacancy arose after the resignation of Maggie Burt in May and his election now brings the Council’s membership back up to 24 town councillors.

Frozen confectionery company manager Mr Burns has been a resident of Hailsham for 17 years – 5 years living in the South & West Ward – and states that among the reasons for putting his name forward to become a town councillor was to help make Hailsham an even better place to live, work and visit.

He said: “I’m delighted to have been elected on to the Town Council and will do my best to help the people of Hailsham sort out any problems and issues that they face locally.”

The Mayor of Hailsham, Councillor Nigel Coltman, welcoming Mr Burns on to the Town Council, said: “I’m delighted Trevor has been elected to represent this ward. He was a good candidate and I’m confident that he will get involved in the local community and promote close links between the Council and residents.”

“I look forward to working with Trevor in the future and wish him every success in his role as town councillor.”

Mr Burns will hold office until the normal election of all town councillors which will take place in May 2019.

Two other candidates stood for election: Grant Neal (Liberal Democrat) 351 votes / Helen Deehan (Labour) 291 votes. The number of ballot papers issued was 1,126 (17.41% turnout).

File Size

Enquiries relating to this media release

Terry Hall, Communications Officer
Hailsham Town Council, Market Street, Hailsham, East Sussex, BN27 2AE
Telephone: 01323 841702 | Email: