Skip to navigation Skip to search

Mayor of Hailsham Welcomes New Councillor

Council News & Services


Grant de Jongh has been elected as councillor for the Upper Horsebridge Ward on Hailsham Town Council.

Conservative candidate Mr de Jongh was voted in during the by-election held on Thursday [2nd March] having received 213 votes.

The vacancy arose after the resignation of Paul Soane in January and his election now brings the Council’s membership back up to 24 town councillors.

Company owner Mr de Jongh has been a resident of Hailsham for 6 years and states that among the reasons for putting his name forward to become a town councillor was to help make Hailsham an even better place to live, work and visit.

He said: “I’m privileged to have been elected to serve the people of Hailsham’s Upper Horsebridge ward and look forward to being a useful member of the Town Council team.”

“Thanks again to everyone who voted for me, I will strive to represent the interests of all the residents in Upper Horsebridge and Hailsham to the best of my abilities. Our town has a lot to be proud of both historically and presently. While there are challenges that we have to meet, I know that working together as a council and a community we can make Hailsham an even better place for everyone.”

The Mayor of Hailsham, Councillor Nigel Coltman, welcoming Mr de Jongh on to the Town Council, said: “I’m delighted Grant has been elected to represent this ward. He was a good candidate and I’m confident that he will get involved in the local community and promote close links between the Council and residents.”

“I look forward to working with Grant in the future and wish him every success in his role as town councillor.”

Mr de Jongh will hold office until the normal election of all town councillors which will take place in May 2019.


The political make up of Hailsham Town Council since the by-election:

14 Conservative councillors

7 Liberal Democrat councillors

3 Independent councillors

Three other candidates stood for election:

Grant De Jongh (Conservative): 213 votes

Grant Neal (Liberal Democrat): 206 votes

Laurence Keeley (Campaign For Change): 37 votes

Kelvin Hinton (Independent): 126 votes

The number of ballot papers issued was 584 (18.07% turnout)

File Size

Enquiries relating to this media release

Terry Hall, Communications Officer
Hailsham Town Council, Market Street, Hailsham, East Sussex, BN27 2AE
Telephone: 01323 841702 | Email: