Skip to navigation Skip to search

Deputy Mayor Presents Awards to Dedicated Volunteers

Mayor's Press Releases

Doreen Warner and Amanda O'Rawe 

Dedicated volunteers were recognised for their contribution to the community at a special awards ceremony held at the Charles Hunt Centre on Tuesday [17 January] during the 2016 AGM of Age Concern Hailsham, Herstmonceux & Hellingly.

Hailsham Deputy Town Mayor Councillor Amanda O’Rawe presented the winners of last year’s Age Concern Volunteer Service Awards with their certificates. In total there were 4 accolades, including prizes to individual volunteers in recognition of their long-term dedication and commitment to voluntary work for older residents in the town.

The recipients of the awards for 2016 are:

Jean Figg                             25 years voluntary service

Doreen Warner                   20 years voluntary service

Khaleda Knanom                5 years voluntary service

Gordon Dale                        5 years voluntary service

An additional award – the Tony Smith Cup for Bowling – was presented to Karen Selmes.

Councillor O’Rawe said: “Much of what has been achieved by Age Concern in Hailsham has been the result of a considerable degree of enthusiasm and commitment of volunteers in delivering vital services that support older people in the community.”

“These volunteers are ordinary people who do extraordinary work for the elderly and, through this annual Awards Presentation, it is fitting that their contribution is recognised. I’m delighted to present awards to the volunteers who have given their time and energy for the good of the community and give my warmest congratulations to them.”

The Charles Hunt Centre thrives with approximately 500 members and some 60 volunteers. The centre remains totally self-financing, monies coming from fund raising events, donations and nominal profits from services and entertainment supplied to members.

New members are always very welcome. For further details, call Sally Stanton on 01323 844398.

File Size

Enquiries relating to this media release

Terry Hall, Communications Officer
Hailsham Town Council, Market Street, Hailsham, East Sussex, BN27 2AE
Telephone: 01323 841702 | Email: